MatchaWhat

Café and chain

Peet's Matcha

Peet's presents its matcha more confidently than most chains: pure, ceremonial-grade, finely ground green tea used in traditional Japanese tea ceremonies. That is a strong claim, and it sits alongside published nutrition showing 23 to 29 grams of sugar in a standard matcha latte — with no ingredient list explaining where that sugar comes from. This page is mostly about that gap, because it is the honest answer to the question people are actually asking.

The short answer

Peet's describes its matcha as pure ceremonial grade, and separately publishes nutrition showing roughly 23 grams of sugar in a small matcha latte and 29 grams in a medium or large. Peet's does not publish an ingredient list for the drink, so whether that sugar is blended into the powder or added as syrup is not disclosed. Peet's also retails unsweetened Mighty Leaf organic matcha, which is a different product from the café blend.

At a glance

Is it real matcha?
Yes — Japanese green tea powder
Marketed grade
Ceremonial
Ingredient list published?
No
Sugar, small latte (2%)
≈ 23g
Sugar, medium latte (2%)
≈ 29g
Producer or region named?
No
Unsweetened retail option
Yes — Mighty Leaf organic matcha
Best for
A sweet latte from a chain that takes tea seriously

Details verified August 2026. Formulations, sourcing and prices change — check the current label before buying. We don't sell any of these products and take no commission on them.

Is Peet's Coffee matcha real matcha?

Yes. Peet's describes it as pure, ceremonial-grade matcha — finely ground green tea used in traditional Japanese tea ceremonies — and there is no suggestion of a syrup or flavouring standing in for tea. What is missing is everything that would let you check the grade claim: no producer, no prefecture, no harvest date, and no ingredient list for the drink as served. Ceremonial grade is an unregulated marketing tier across the entire industry, so without those details the phrase carries the company's assurance and nothing more.

What you're getting

A chain matcha latte from a company with genuine tea credentials, and a transparency gap in the middle of it. The published nutrition is the most useful thing available: 23 grams of sugar in a small with 2% milk, 29 in a medium. Milk contributes some of that — around 12 grams in a small — which leaves roughly 11 to 17 grams unaccounted for by milk alone. Whether that arrives in the powder or from a syrup is not stated, and that distinction is exactly what determines whether an unsweetened version is orderable. Ask in store; the answer is not published.

How it tastes

Sweet and smooth, with a rounder, less grassy profile than a whisked bowl. There is more tea character here than in the sugar-first chain blends — matcha reads as a flavour rather than as a colour — but it is a sweetened drink first. The iced version tastes cleaner than the hot, as it does everywhere, because cold suppresses sweetness perception and lets more of the tea through.

What you can order

  • Matcha Green Tea Latte (hot)

    The core drink. Roughly 23g of sugar in a small with 2% milk, 29g in a medium.

  • Iced Matcha Green Tea Latte

    The same base cold. Reads less sweet than the hot version at a similar sugar level.

  • Matcha Frappé

    Blended, with the frappé base adding sugar on top of the drink's existing sweetness.

  • Mighty Leaf Organic Matcha (retail)

    Unsweetened organic matcha powder sold by the bag, in usucha and ceremonial versions. A separate product from the café blend — this one is just green tea powder.

What it does well

  • Genuine tea company credentials, and a retail matcha line that is unsweetened and organic.
  • More tea character in the cup than the sugar-first chain blends deliver.
  • Published per-size nutrition across every milk option, which many chains do not provide.
  • The Mighty Leaf retail matcha is a real unsweetened product for home use.
  • Wide US availability.

Where it falls short

  • No ingredient list published for the latte, so the source of the sugar is undisclosed.
  • Ceremonial grade is claimed without a producer, prefecture, harvest or any other checkable detail.
  • 23 to 29 grams of sugar in a standard drink is high for something marketed on tea quality.
  • Whether an unsweetened version can be ordered is not documented anywhere public.
  • The retail Mighty Leaf matcha and the café blend are easily confused, and are not the same thing.

How it compares

  • vs Starbucks matcha

    Starbucks publishes its two-ingredient list and it is unflattering — sugar first. Peet's publishes a better claim and no list. Disclosure and quality are different axes, and each chain is stronger on one.

  • vs Tim Hortons matcha

    Tim Hortons publishes full per-drink ingredients and offers a documented unsweetened option. On transparency this is not close.

  • vs Blank Street matcha

    Both claim ceremonial grade. Blank Street backs it by selling the unsweetened powder retail; Peet's sells a separate retail line under the Mighty Leaf name instead.

  • vs the Mighty Leaf retail tin

    The retail matcha is unsweetened green tea powder and nothing else. If you want Peet's matcha without the sugar question, that is the product.

Buy it if

People who want a chain matcha latte with more tea presence than the sugar-first blends offer, and who are not troubled by an undisclosed sweetener. Peet's retail matcha is separately worth knowing about for home use.

Skip it if

Anyone tracking sugar closely, since the amount is published but its source is not, and anyone who wants to verify a ceremonial-grade claim. On the second point, buy from a seller who names the producer and the harvest.

Frequently asked

Is Peet's matcha ceremonial grade?

Peet's describes it as pure, ceremonial-grade matcha. No producer, prefecture, harvest date or ingredient list is published to support that, and ceremonial grade has no legal definition anywhere in the industry — it is a marketing tier. So the claim is the company's, and there is nothing available to check it against.

How much sugar is in a Peet's matcha latte?

Around 23 grams in a small with 2% milk and about 29 grams in a medium, according to Peet's published nutrition. Milk accounts for roughly 12 grams of the small, which leaves the rest unexplained by milk alone. Peet's does not publish an ingredient list, so whether that sugar is in the powder or added separately is not disclosed.

Can you order Peet's matcha unsweetened?

It is not documented publicly. The answer depends on whether the sweetener sits inside the powder, as at Starbucks, or is added at the bar, as at Tim Hortons — and Peet's does not publish that. Ask in store rather than assuming either way. If you want a guaranteed unsweetened Peet's matcha, the retail Mighty Leaf organic matcha is pure green tea powder.

Is Peet's matcha real matcha?

Yes. It is described as finely ground Japanese green tea, not a flavouring, a syrup or a matcha-flavoured mix. The open questions are about grade and added sugar, not about whether the green component is genuine matcha.

What is the difference between Peet's café matcha and the Mighty Leaf matcha they sell?

The retail Mighty Leaf organic matcha is unsweetened green tea powder sold by the bag, available in usucha and ceremonial versions. The café latte uses a different preparation whose ingredient list is not published and which carries 23 to 29 grams of sugar per drink. They share a company, not a product.

How many calories are in a Peet's matcha latte?

Around 180 for a small with 2% milk and 260 for a medium, per Peet's published figures. The numbers shift with the milk chosen — non-fat, soy, almond and oat are all listed separately — but as with any matcha latte the milk and the sugar account for essentially all of it.

The Ultimate Matcha Guide

$4.99$10launch

See inside